Author Spotlight: Welcome Eden Winters!


Afternoon guys!

I’d like to give a warm welcome to the very talented Eden Winters!
She’s very talented and an amazing person if you ever get to meet her. I count myself lucky to have met her a the 2012 GRL. She was an absolute blast to be around! 🙂

When I decided to get back into my blog and start writing again, I couldn’t think of a better person to invite along.

I had the chance to interview her, and like I’ve said before, I’m excited for this. Eden was such a good sport and answered so many of my questions that we thought it best to break it up so here’s part one of my interview with Eden and look for the other half later this month.

Without further ado, here she is!

Welcome, Eden.

What was your dreams growing up?
Don’t laugh, but at various times I wanted to be a princess, the world’s first female Southern Baptist Minister, a missionary, a gospel singer, an archaeologist, and a sociologist.

What made you start writing?
I’m not sure. I’ve always written for as long as I can remember. Escapism mostly.

When did you start writing?
My first published poem was in a teacher’s newsletter for my school. I was six or seven.

Is writing something you’ve always wanted to do or is it new to you?
For a while I was convinced I couldn’t write anything anyone would want to read, but although I never considered it as a career choice, writing was just something I did, as necessary and unavoidable as breathing.

What is your last book? What is it about?
The third installment of my Diversion series, Corruption, published October 1 from Rocky Ridge Books. Two narcotics agents have formed an uneasy partnership both off and on the job, and while the POV character, Lucky, is the opinionated loudmouth, this offering allows his love interest, Bo, to shine.

What made you decide to write it?
Bo and Lucky’s story didn’t end with the last book. There are too many unanswered questions, and they’ve got too much personal growth yet to achieve. Besides, Bo has been in the shadows up until this point in the series, and I loved showing a little more depth in his character.

Are you working on anything new? What is it?
Currently I’m working on The Telling 2: After Jimmy, the sequel to my very first novel, The Telling. As with The Telling, the plot involves a wounded soldier returning home to pick up the pieces of his life. The first book starred Michael Ritter, but this one features his friend Ryan, who made a few brief appearances in the first installment.

Any special routines you have to do before you can sit down and write?
Due to ADHD that worsens as the day passes, I get more done in the early morning hours after I first wake up. I’ve recently moved into a new house, and bought a chaise lounge that sits in a corner by a sunny window. It has become my new writing spot. I call it “Eden’s Book Nook”.

Are there any hidden meanings in your book? A lesson to be learned?
The underlying theme, if there is one, is to be compassionate to others—you never know what trials they might be suffering.

What’s in store for you next?
There are at least four more Diversion books planned, a YA trilogy involving shifters, a high fantasy story about a demon hunter, and a sci-fi ménage story, to name a few projects.

Other than writing, do you do anything else?
I have a full time job with a pharmaceutical company. Yes, the Diversion series was inspired by my job.

Do you think authors should read reviews of their books?
Only from an analytical viewpoint. Take what you can learn from and don’t dwell on non-constructive comments. I do read mine, and I’ve learned a lot about myself and my writing. I’ve grown as a writer based on the well thought out critique of readers.

Would you argue with a reviewer over a bad review?
Never. People have the right to their own opinions. I did, however, contact a reviewer privately when I saw inaccuracies in their review for which they thanked me. The reviewer was not aware that certain cars can be operated in manual or automatic mode and believed they’d found an error in how I described the vehicle.

Now that you’ve published your book, is there anything you would change? Any regrets?
If I have regrets, all I have to do is wait until the book comes out from under contract to correct them.

How often do you write? Do you have a word-count schedule to keep you on track or do you just “go with the flow”?
Because of long workdays, and beta and editor duties, I write whenever I can. A note jotted at work may become a short scene once I arrive home.

What are your plans next?
I’ve recently completed an editing course and will be focusing on improving my editing skills, and learning about the production and marketing of books.

Thank you, Eden, for stopping by!

As I mentioned yesterday, I have another giveaway for you guys!
I will be giving one lucky reader a $15 ARe eGiftcard and a copy of Eden’s Corruption (now available on ARe & Amazon).

20131002-104148.jpg To enter to win just comment on an Author Spotlight posting and ONE winner will be randomly selected.
Entries will be accepted from today until 10/30/13 at 11:59PM and a winner be be annouced Halloween Day.

About H.A Caine

I'm an aspiring author with a love of books and food. When I'm not writing I can be found reading or spending time with my family. I'm a romantic person at heart and love anything that guarantees a HEA, be it books or movies. P.S- I love to bake!

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Author Interviews, author spotlight, giveaways and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the interview and the giveaway! I really admire you for writing and publishing even though you have another job.

  2. I LOVE this series. I adore both of the main characters in this series—- Lucky has stolen my heart!
    H.A Caine is totally right Eden’s an amazing and awesome person/writer!!!!
    Looking forward to more Eden Winter’s books.
    Hugs, Z.

  3. I love the cover of Corruption but there again who wouldn’t? It has everything, a hot guy, a great bike and a wonderful author’s name on the front 😀 The colours aren’t bad either 😉

  4. That’s great to hear, I liked Telling!

  5. I’m so excited about After Jimmy! I loved Ryan in The Telling, and can’t wait to read his story.

  6. Loved Corruption and very excited to hear that there are four more stories to come in the Diversion series. Thank you Eden for this wonderful giveaway.

  7. How interesting to read what Eden wanted to be growing up. All people oriented or based type of professions.

  8. I admit I am a cover junkie and I just love the cover of Corruption! Good Luck with editing Eden 🙂

Leave a Reply

